DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

The Rolling Stones - 'From The Vault: Hampton Coliseum - Live In 1981' / 'From The Vault: L.A. Forum - Live In 1975' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 06, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4725   0   2   0   0   0

These DVD's will appeal to old and new fans alike.

'From The Vault' is a new series of live concerts from The Rolling Stones archive which have just been given their first official releases. These are simultaneous releases of full-length, two and a half hour concerts on DVD, DVD+2CD and DVD+3LP. They have been carefully restored and the sound has been newly mixed by the legendary Bob Clearmountain and the DVD is available in Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS Surround Sound; frankly, and in short, they sound superb.

The first of the releases is 'From The Vault - Hampton Coliseum – Live in 1981' which was filmed at the end of the RS American Tour in support of the critically and commercially successful 'Tattoo You' album. This was the most successful tour of that year taking a then record fifty million dollars in ticket sales. There were fifty dates on the tour which ran from Philadelphia at the end of September through to Hampton, Virginia on the 18th and 19th of December. The show on December 18th, which was also Keith Richards' birthday, was the first ever music concert to be broadcast on television as a pay-per-view event. The beginning starts with pre-show footage before the band hit the stage and open with 'Under My Thumb'. It is also quite amusing to see Ronnie Wood and Richards smoking, quite literally, whilst performing. Highlights? Well the latter will depend on your own particular Stones favourites; for me personally 'Shattered', 'Miss You', 'Let's Spend The Night Together', 'Beast Of Burden', 'Tumbling Dice', Brown Sugar', 'Start Me Up' and 'Jumpin' Jack Flash'. Watch out for when Richards really does turn his guitar into an axe when an over-eager fan runs on to the stage during the band's encore '(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The second release 'From The Vault – L.A. Forum – Live In 1975' was recorded on the fourth of a five night stint at the L.A. Forum and was part of their 'Tour Of The Americas 1975' and the band's first tour with new guitarist Wood. This show is not as visual and very dark in comparison with the vibrant colours of the 1981 Hampton Coliseum show, but the sound is equally as good although the band are a lot rawer and not as polished as it became over the years. For me personally, there is a better set-list, including the classics 'Honky Tonk Women', 'Gimme Shelter', 'You Can't Always Get What You Want', 'Tumbling Dice', 'It's Only Rock 'N' Roll', 'Angie', 'Wild Horses' 'Brown Sugar', 'Midnight Rambler', 'Street Fighting Man' and the brilliant 'Sympathy For The Devil'.

Both DVD's come with a small booklet with full in-depth reviews of each concert by Richard Havers

These DVD's will appeal to old and new fans alike, an essential addition to the collections of the former and a birds-eye insight into what has made The Rolling Stones such an enduring phenomenon over the years for the latter.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site