DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Dream Theater - 'Live At Luna Park' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 09, 2014    
0.0 (0)
6788   1   1   0   0   0




Another fine offering to add to your collection.

If there were any lingering doubts about the well-being of Progressive Metal's favourite sons after band leader and drummer Mike Portnoy's surprise departure, then this epic live DVD and associated extras should dispel them completely. Filmed in pristine blu-ray clarity in the Argentinian capital of Buenos Aires, the cleverly dubbed 'A Dramatic Tour Of Events' show is two hours and forty minutes of a band at the top of their game, featuring songs from right across their twenty-four year recording career, with the whole of 2011's 'A Dramatic Turn Of Events' as the backbone.

Highlights of the show are many and show the various facets of the band's music, from highly technical workouts like 'Metropolis Pt. 1' and the metallic 'The Root Of All Evil', to the simpler ballads 'This Is The Life' and 'The Spirit Carries On'. James LaBrie sings well throughout and the musicianship is exemplary, none more so than Mike Mangini's explosive drumming which injects the material with an extra sense of urgency, but there are no weak links in this band and keyboardist Jordan Rudess, bassist John Myung and especially guitarist John Petrucci all get to dazzle through the rollercoaster ride of sounds and styles that make up the band's repertoire.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Although the lengthy epics are the band's trademark, some of the best moments are reserved for the quieter sections, particularly the pairing of the acoustic 'The Silent Man' and the beautiful 'Beneath The Surface', augmented here by a string quartet and Petrucci's strong backing vocals. The visuals and 5.1 mix are both exceptional and the receptive South American crowd create a lot of atmosphere, the only downside being that the back projections aren't clear and don't have the same impact as when you're at a show.

'Live At Luna Park' is available in different Blu-ray, DVD and CD formats or as a plush photobook that houses all six discs, but each includes extra performances of six further songs, the local string quartet featuring on 'Wait For Sleep' and a stunning 'Far From Heaven', although LaBrie's screechy vocal on 'Pull Me Under' is thankfully the only blip of the entire release. There's a nice documentary that shows a content band who obviously enjoy each other's company, a DVD trailer and a behind the scenes piece by the film's directors, as well as the cartoon intro of the live show and a multi-angle option on 'Outcry' which requires the memorising of your remote control to change the view.

Renowned for putting out quality DVD's, this is another fine offering to add to your collection.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site