DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Tank - 'War Machine Live' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 09, 2013    
0.0 (0)
7865   1   1   0   0   0





Buy it, it’s a bargain.

After many, many years there is now an officially released Tank DVD. Named ‘War Machine Live’ after its 2010 CD release, old Tank songs are entwined with the new ones and the join is almost seamless. The band is undoubtedly classic rock and this is reinforced with the presence of Doogie White with his undisputed rock pedigree but there is still a slight punk edge in the mix. This comes over unsurprisingly more in the older Algie Ward-era tracks due mainly to their more simplistic song structure but it is there throughout all songs.

Filmed at the Stodola Club, Warsaw on 9th March 2012 with a reasonable crowd in tow, the band plays pretty much 50% old and 50% new tracks. The predictable older tracks are there and my personal favourite ‘This Means War’ opens the set; classic tracks such as ‘Power Of The Hunter’ and ‘(He Fell In Love With A) Stormtrooper’ appear later on. The more complex and new songs, notably ‘Judgement Day’ and ‘Feast Of The Devil’ come over well and in context and there is no fanfare from Doogie about what song originates from his era or not. The pace is frenetic throughout and the energy remains through to the end, with the epic ‘The War Drags Ever On’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Regarding sound quality, the DVD comes with Dolby Digital 2.0 and 5.1 options and the sound is BIG. Bass player Chris Dale does well in the mix and his finger played lines are clear throughout. The twin guitar attack of Mick Tucker and Cliff Evans are as expected - clear, present and correct. Not being a drum expert, I can still vouch that the sound from the fast footwork of Steve Hopgood comes over well and of course Doogie´s voice has the quality that is expected. A great effort had been put into the camera work and some interestingly angles were used and overall clarity is pretty good.

The DVD package is a card gatefold sleeve and comes over as high quality with some great photos of the band and of course the famous Tank logo. As for extras, there are a quite a few. First of all there is the video for the title track of the new album, ‘War Nation’, with its retro cartoon concept. Then, there are interviews with Tucker and Evans, mainly talking about the evolution of the band from the Algie Ward days to now. Their brief talk on the music had a great quote from Evans, “We plug our Les Pauls into the Marshalls with nothing in between”. This is then followed by an interview with Doogie White who is always good value.

There is then a twenty five minute excerpt from the band’s performance at the Metal Hammer Festival in 2011. And that’s not all - the DVD also contains a ten minute life on the road film, photos, bios, discography and desktop screensavers.

Buy it, it’s a bargain.

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site