DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Little Angels - 'One More From The Road' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 09, 2013    
0.0 (0)
10128   0   1   0   0   0



Limited edition DVD.

It may not have been cool to admit it at the time, but between 1989 and 1994 I was a huge fan of Little Angels, with their brand of horn infused commercial hard rock sweeping me along through three stunning albums and countless gigs. I’ve no shame admitting that even though I was 21, I was devastated when Toby Jepson, Bruce John Dickinson, Mark Plunkett, Jimmy Dickinson and Mark Richardson decided to call it a day. I had no idea why that earth shattering decision was taken and judging by the comments that the five-some make throughout the excellent hour long documentary that makes up the main feature of this limited edition DVD, neither do they. With clips from way back when they were known as Mr. Thrud - no wonder they changed that then - right up to last year’s triumphant comeback after an eighteen year absence, the band go into great detail about their steady rise from Scarborough hopefuls, through to a band that boasted a UK number one album in the shape of the phenomenal ‘Jam’ in 1993. It makes for great watching, especially considering that the benefit of hindsight has allowed a candidness and self awareness that you seldom hear from musicians when they talk about themselves. The departure of their second drummer Michael Lee who auditioned for The Cult behind his then current band’s back, is handled with sensitivity and honesty, with the guys then going on to put that period in their history in perspective by talking about the tragedy of their first meeting in fourteen years being at Lee’s funeral, who had sadly died from an epileptic seizure in 2008. However the positive that came from that unfortunate reunion was the cracking comeback performance at last year’s tenth anniversary Download show, which is also captured in its entirety on this DVD.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Kicking off with the unforgettable drum pattern to ‘She’s A Little Angel’, the eight song set looks and sounds so accomplished that it’s as if the band never went away. ‘Kicking Up Dust’ still lives up to its name and ‘Boneyard’ remains a crowd sing along par excellence. The Dickinson brothers - Bruce on guitar and Jimmy on keys - lock together stupendously, while the Marks, Plunkett on bass and Richardson behind the kit, lay down the law. Jepson again pays tribute to Michael Lee with a poignant rendition of ‘Don’t Prey For Me’, before the quick one-two of ‘Too Much Too Young’ and ‘Young Gods’ brings things to a stunning close, Jepson proving his voice has aged tremendously well in the process. A quick post-show interview follows, before all of the Little Angels promo videos from days gone by are collected together one last time, meaning I can finally lay my ‘Big Bad Video’ to rest!

Little Angels really were one of the unsung heroes of the UK rock scene. Hopefully we’ll all appreciate them just that little bit more second time around!

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site