DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Meat Loaf - 'Guilty Pleasure Tour' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 30, 2013    
0.0 (0)
12905   0   1   0   0   0




Only worth picking up because of the bonus documentary.

Judging from the response Meat Loaf has received from ardent fans in recent years (including this particular reviewer) Meat Loaf should “have a done a Steve Perry” and retired from the live stage after the 2003-04 ‘Couldn’t Have Said It Better’ tour, which was then dubbed ‘The Last Tour’. Sadly, it wasn’t. His voice is in very poor shape now and despite the expertise of his band he sounds feeble on this DVD; his first live DVD release since 2007s ‘Three Bats Live’ and similarly to said release, ‘Guilty Pleasure Tour’ is only worth picking up because of the bonus documentary. The last time I saw Meat Loaf was at the Liverpool Echo Arena in 2008 and he was appalling. Half the venue was empty and some fans were leaving after just a few songs. Years before Meat Loaf would have sold out venues on multiple nights in the UK’s biggest venues but unfortunately he has ruined his live reputation. At the height of his live appeal, which was probably in the mid 1990s on the back of the second ‘Bat Out Of Hell’ album, Meat Loaf was tremendous and live footage on YouTube proves that, but now he’s old and worn out.

To his credit he’s not a rock singer like Steven Tyler where the odd note can be missed and fans wouldn’t tell the difference, plus Meat’s songs are very long and tough to sing live. He has been far too inconsistent in recent years, which is probably why the ‘Guilty Pleasure Tour’ of 2011-2012 was said to be his last live jaunt of Australia and New Zealand. His lowest point came at the 2011 Australian Football League Final where he sang a twelve minute medley. It was so poorly received that many fans called it the worst performance in the Grand Final’s 34 year history.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This DVD features Meat Loaf’s performance at the Sydney Entertainment Centre on October 12, 2011. Unfortunately his voice is beat. He mumbles and staggers through almost every song, relying mostly on his wonderful band which still includes Patti Russo who never seems to age. The setlist is much shorter than his previous shows having been told for health reasons to slow down. Much of the new material is from ‘Hang Cool Teddy Bear’ such as ‘Los Angeloser’ although oddly there is nothing from his current album, ‘Hell In A Handbasket’. There are some old faves in there too like ‘Hot Patootie’ from The Rocky Horror Picture Show and ‘Rock And Roll Dreams’ from ‘Bat II’. The DVD also contains an entertaining documentary about the making of a Meat Loaf gig which has interviews with the band. The CD features ten of the concert’s thirteen songs but given his weak voice it’s doubtful I’d ever listen to it again. In truth, as a lifelong fan (Meat is one of my childhood rock idols) I can only say that the best way for Meat to go forward is by going backwards and that’s to finish his career with one last complete album with Jim Steinman - but with no tour!

Neil Daniels

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site