Lostboy (Jim Kerr) solo album news

LOSTBOY! is the self-titled debut album from (new artist) LOSTBOY! AKA JIM KERR, the musical alter-ego of Simple Minds’ legendary singer/songwriter.  It is released in the UK & Ireland on 17th May 2010 on earMUSIC, the international pop rock label of Edel Group, distributed by Absolute via Universal.

Produced by Jez Coad (Simple Minds last 2 albums) and featuring Charlie Jones on bass (Robert Plant, Page & Plant, Goldfrapp) alongside long-time Simple Minds drummer Mel Gaynor, Lostboy! showcases a new musical alter ego for Jim, whilst retaining strong links with his 40-million selling, 33-year career with Simple Minds.


Lostboy! is all about big melodic themes, turbo charged rhythms and guitars that shine.  It is a noisy and juvenile explosion that comes from a wise head and a sophisticated heart; a rock and roll clatter that involves sequencers and hidden symphonies. It is also an eclectic collection, with tracks ranging from the Joy Division-esque, electro-tinged “She Fell in Love With Silence” via pop gems such as title track “Lostboy!” and “Bulletproof Heart”, to the instantly recognisable Simple Minds sound of  “Shadowland”.


The album will be released in 4 formats; a standard 11-track CD; 12” Vinyl;  a limited edition CD featuring 3 bonus studio tracks, and a collectors edition bundle which includes both the CD and a 7” vinyl single featuring covers of Velvet Underground’s “What Goes On” and The Verve’s “Lucky Man”.


Lostboy! AKA Jim Kerr says:  "Unbelievably I seemed to have reconnected with the spirit of the kid I was when I first started to make rock music. As if I had come face to face with the lost boy that I had left behind. I wanted to make music that reflected the rediscovery of the energy with which I had reconnected. I am delighted with the result and convinced that Lostboy! AKA is something special that will grow quickly over the next years in parallel with the ongoing great story of Simple Minds."

Tracklistings for all formats (CD, 12” Vinyl, CD Ltd Ed, 7” Vinyl + CD (Collectors Edition):


CD and 12” Vinyl LP:


01. Refugee

02. She Fell In Love With Silence

03. Shadowland

04. Return Of The King

05. Red Letter Day

06. Remember Asia

07. Bulletproof Heart

08. Lostboy!

09. Nail Through My Heart

10. Solo Man Solo Head

11. The Wait




CD Ltd. Edition:  Same track listing as CD plus 3 bonus studio tracks


1. Mr Silversmith

2. Karma To This Rain

3. Sad Stone Child


7” Vinyl+CD (Collectors Edition): 7” A-side What Goes On (a Velvet Underground song) B-side Lucky Man (a Verve song)


Lostboy!AKA Jim Kerr will perform some small intimate dates in May including:


Fri  21st            Aberdeen        Warehouse                 0844 847 2319

Sat 22nd            Glasgow         King Tuts                 0141 221 5279            SOLD OUT

Sun 23rd            London            The Borderline             08448 472 465            SOLD OUT


Online tickets for Aberdeen and London from  Online for Glasgow  Doors in Aberdeen and London 7pm


James “Jim“ Kerr is the founder, songwriter and voice of Simple Minds, one of the most influential British bands to emerge from the Post-Punk revolution of 1978. After their “independent” early years, the band developed into stadium stars, enjoying worldwide chart success with a raft of genre-defining singles including “Don‘t You (Forget About Me)”, “Alive And Kicking” and “Mandela Day”. Bands including Stereophonics, Manic Street Preachers, Cardigans, and Kasabian regularly cite Simple Minds as their formative influence.
Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters

busy << Back

Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Quote of the day

"I wouldn't know about any of the newer bands. We're a bit past the pimple stage." (AC/DC's Angus Young) - Quotes collected by Dave Ling (

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site