Renegade Five - 'Undergrounded Universe' Hot

Added by James Gaden     March 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6136   0   1   0   0   0



Debut album from Swedish five piece.


Renegade Five are a five piece band from Karlstad in Sweden and ‘Undergrounded Universe’ is their debut full length release. “Never judge a book by it’s cover” is an observation that fits this album perfectly as the picture of the band adorning the CD booklet would seem to suggest a youthful band plying a pop music trade. Though we’re not in Metallica territory here the pop music allegory certainly doesn’t apply and I was pleasantly surprised after playing the album through for the first time. The quality is unquestionable and this opinion has only been compounded after further spins.

The blend of Finnish attitude and stylings coupled with a sense of commerciality synonymous with everything Swedish has resulted in a highly addictive CD that is still giving me constant pleasure despite it’s unoriginal structure and conventional approach. Sweeping orchestral atmospherics punctured by crunching riffs and powerful rhythms generates a Rasmus/Within Temptation hybrid and 4 or 5 tracks into ‘Undergrounded Universe’ these comparisons become even more apparent. ‘Darkest Age’ could have come from any of the last few Rasmus albums whilst ‘Shadows’ has a melody line resembling ‘Stand My Ground’ from Within Temptation’s ‘The Silent Force’ opus. Layers of keyboards and a purposeful use of strings, complimented by occasionally intense guitar passages, embellish the epic qualities and add to the WT comparisons despite the obvious budgetary constraints.

The album has a nice pacing and balances the more urgent tracks intelligently with those of a more reflective nature. ‘Love Will Remain’ is imbued with an almost down-beat sense of melancholy but sits nicely next to the more authoritative exuberance of ‘Stand For Your Rights’. Hardly the most enigmatic of singers, Per Nylin moulds his voice to the material with considerable ease and at times his breathy delivery becomes quite hypnotic. Most of the songs avoid an urgent sonic assault, the subtle melodies infused with a Gothic undercurrent allowing them to slowly become embedded in the subconscious. ‘Seven Days’ contains a refrain of instant appeal whilst ‘Too Far Away’ marries guitars and keys in Within Temptation style again though the semi-acoustic verse qualifies as a thoughtful variation.

Though the guitars tend to be a little low in the mix, keyboards dominating at times and one or two tracks tend to have that ‘samey’ feel, the overiding quality still remains of a high standard. ‘Set My Heart On Fire’ closes the album strongly with another infectious hook and an engaging song structure then before you know it you’re hitting repeat and the auditory delights begin again.

Dave Bott


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site