DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Shinedown - 'Somewhere In The Stratosphere' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 16, 2011    
0.0 (0)
10499   0   1   0   0   0

A great set.

Despite the critical acclaim heaped upon the first two Shinedown studio albums, it was the 2008’s 'Sound Of Madness' that brought the four-piece careering into sharp focus. Many proclaimed it to be a masterpiece yet it had spent barely any time in the marketplace. Constant touring on the back of the CD has culminated in this live 2CD & 2DVD......with a difference. The 'Somewhere In The Stratosphere' set actually contains two full shows, one acoustic and one 'electric'. Having seen Shinedown in the live environment twice myself I can testify to the band's natural affinity in front of an audience and also their obvious musical qualities.

The first thing that strikes me on watching/listening these shows is how comfortable Shinedown are utilising the acoustic format. They still manage to generate the same energy as they do in a less intimate setting without losing any sense of rapport with the crowd. Brent Smith has a commanding stage presence and though I still have one or two reservations about the 'live' validity of his vocals at times during the shows it is virtually impossible to be anything less than impressed when he steps up to the microphone. Drummer Barry Kerch, bass player Eric Bass and guitarist Zach Myers are perfect foils for Smith's lyrical observations and that they never let the singer overshadow their own performances is testament to their genuine abilities. The 'electric' concert recorded in Washington State features a blistering run through some of 'The Sound Of Madness' finer moments alongside some of the favourites from 'Leave A Whisper' and 'Us and Them'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The audio packs a real punch and visually we are thankfully spared any headache-inducing editing. It is also good to hear the relatively new songs 'Diamond Eyes' and 'Her Name Is Alice' (both featured on soundtracks from two high profile 2010 films). Smith's legendary between-song banter is kept to a minimum with the focus squarely on the music. At 75 minutes the running time is lean, but spellbinding nevertheless.The acoustic show from Kansas City - despite the grandeur of the setting and the formal attire of both band and audience - is relatively intimate and relaxed and the Shinedown sound is augmented by a handful of extra musicians. It comes across a little like a VH1 Storyteller gig as Smith explains the origins of each song and the ideas leading to their creation. It has a tendency to interrupt the flow a little but anyone who is familiar with the singer will no doubt be used to his ways by now. The covers of Foo Fighters 'Times Like These' and The Beatles 'With A Little Help From My Friends' are nice additions to the original material and surprisingly everything seems to work regardless of the alternative arrangements.

After two months I still have no preference for one show over the other and being a fan of the band this great set will do nicely until the new album.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site